Franck Cammas: “It was the first time that I crossed the Horn”

Franck Cammas


Created on:
9 January 2017 / 12:00
Modified on :
31 January 2017 / 11:35

After setting off on the great Jules Verne adventure on three occasions, it was in 2010 that Franck Cammas scored a record time on the course. At the helm of Groupama 3, a maxi-trimaran designed for records, the man nicknamed as the “little Mozart of sailing” pulled off the world tour in 48 days, 7 hours, 44 minutes and 52 seconds. Notably the winner of the Volvo Ocean Race (2011-2012), three Jacques Vabre Transats (2001, 2003 and 2007) and a Route du Rhum (2010), Franck Cammas here retraces his experience of the Jules Verne.

©Yvan Zedda / Groupama Team
©Yvan Zedda / Groupama Team

 

What prompted you to commit to the Trophy for the first time in 2008?

The team and I had already been involved with 60-feet boats for 8 years already, and we wanted to move onto something bigger, in sporting terms. With our partner Groupama, we agreed that the Jules Verne Trophy was a challenge that would suit us both: in sporting terms for us, and in media terms for them. This is why we embarked on a program in 2006, the year in which the boat was constructed. We launched it in 2006, and set out on our first attempt the next year.

What is your favorite memory of the Jules Verne Trophy?

I have plenty of them! But I have to say that when I did the Jules Verne, it was the first time that I went past Cape Horn. When we went past it, we had the wind against us, at 15 knots, with not much wind. It was fun even if we weren’t going very fast. In any case, it was a very moving experience. Next, the arrival was of course a great moment. In 2010, we had fairly bad weather all the way along. We were behind even when we went past the Equator on the way back. We only managed to gain two days once we were in the northern hemisphere on the way back. It was quite tense, so it was a release to finally arrive and beat this record.

What is your worst memory?

In 2010, we were frustrated because we constantly fell into weather impasses. We sailed upwind at Cape Horn and this was the way things remained until the Equator. We weren’t able to open the sails from Cape Horn up to the Equator. We set off near the cut-off date (end of January) and everything went a bit awry in terms of weather. Luckily, we had a good boat that was very versatile – this allowed us to beat the record.

What do you prefer – sailing solo or with a crew?

I haven’t sailed solo since the 2010 Route du Rhum. Overall, I’ve always preferred sailing with a crew, and the dimension of working as a team. I should point out that in a crew, we can use the boat 100 % – something that you can’t do when you’re sailing alone. When you sail solo, you’re forced to gloss over the setup and the fine aspects of steering a little. So in a team, there’s a certain intensity that you don’t find – or less so – when sailing solo.

What does the Jules Verne Trophy mean to you?

It’s the simplest race that exists. There are practically no rules, except regarding the route. So this helps open up opportunities for innovation and investigation on all sporting or technical levels. We see that it isn’t necessarily the largest or most powerful boats that win. The Jules Verne really allows competitors to try out things without any limits being set, making it a competition that reaches extremes. This is pleasant. There isn’t any other race like it.

Do you think about attempting the Jules Verne again one day?

I haven’t thought about it… I’m not closing the door, obviously. It depends on the record because when you commit to the race, there has to be a possibility of beating it. It’s when you believe that you can beat it that you end up lining up on the starting line one day. You also need to have the technical conditions to achieve it, in other words, have an adapted boat. So it’s necessary to either build a suitable boat – and this is a huge operation –, or you need to pick up a boat that is still capable of achieving it, in the way that Idec Sport is in the process of demonstrating.

Idec Sport is of course the former Groupama on which you once sailed…

It’s an old boat, but it’s still proving today that it was designed at a good balance: not too big, very efficient, capable of being sailed solo or by a team. There aren’t many boats like that. It isn’t completely optimized for the solo sailor or for teams, but it’s capable of serving both. And what it does, it does well.

Do you have a message for Francis Joyon and his five teammates, currently attacking the Jules Verne?

Francis has sailed some fantastic times, and notched up some huge days. It’s remarkable! You need to understand that sailing permanently at over 30 knots requires a great deal of attention and agility at the helm; it’s uncomfortable and very noisy. It’s necessarily stressful. Francis and his crew are in the process of finding their limits without going over them. It’s excellent sailing. We can only congratulate them.

 

Interviewed by Isabelle Trancoen

Franck Cammas : « C’était la première fois que je passais le Cap Horn »

Franck Cammas


Créé le:
9 janvier 2017 / 12:00
Modifié le:
31 janvier 2017 / 11:35

S’il s’est embarqué pour la grande aventure du Jules Verne à trois reprises, c’est en 2010 que Franck Cammas s’est offert le record de l’épreuve. A la barre de Groupama 3, un maxi-trimaran conçu pour les records, celui que l’on surnomme le petit Mozart de la voile avait alors bouclé son tour du monde en 48 jours, 7 heures, 44 minutes et 52 secondes. Vainqueur notamment de la Volvo Ocean Race (2011-2012), de trois transats Jacques Vabre (2001, 2003 et 2007) et d’une Route du Rhum (2010), Franck Cammas revient sur son expérience dans le Jules Verne.

©Yvan Zedda / Groupama Team
©Yvan Zedda / Groupama Team

 

Qu’est ce qui vous a amené à vous engager dans l’aventure du Trophée la première fois, en 2008 ?

Avec l’équipe, nous étions engagés dans les 60 pieds depuis 8 ans déjà et on voulait passer à quelque chose de plus grand sportivement. Avec notre partenaire Groupama, on s’est dit que le Trophée Jules Verne était un défi qui pouvait convenir aussi bien sportivement pour nous et médiatiquement pour eux.  C’est pour ça qu’on s’est lancé, avec un programme dès 2006, année de la construction du bateau. On l’a mis à l’eau en 2006 et notre première tentative est intervenue l’année suivante.

Quel est votre meilleur souvenir du Trophée Jules Verne ?

J’en ai plein ! Mais je dois dire que lorsque j’ai fait le Jules Verne, c’était la première fois que je passais le Cap Horn. Quand on l’a franchi, on était face au vent, à 15 nœuds, avec pas beaucoup de vent. C’est marrant même si ce n’était pas très rapide. C’était quoi qu’il en soit assez émouvant. Ensuite, l’arrivée est forcément un grand moment. En 2010, on a eu tout le long une assez mauvaise météo. On était en retard même quand on a passé l’équateur au retour. On a gagné deux jours juste sur l’hémisphère nord au retour. C’était assez tendu et donc c’était une délivrance d’arriver et de battre ce record.

Quel est votre pire souvenir ?

En 2010, c’était la frustration de tomber toujours dans des impasses météo. On était au près au Cap Horn et on l’est resté jusqu’à l’équateur. On n’a jamais fait pu ouvrir les voiles du Cap Horn à l’équateur. On était partis en date limite (fin janvier) et tout était allé un peu à l’envers en terme de météo. Heureusement, on avait un bon bateau, très polyvalent, et ça nous a permis de battre le record.

Que préférez-vous : naviguer en solitaire ou en équipage ?

Depuis la Route du Rhum 2010, je n’ai pas navigué en solitaire. Dans l’ensemble, j’ai toujours préféré l’équipage et la dimension du travail d’équipe. Il faut dire qu’en équipage, on peut exploiter le bateau à 100%, chose qu’on ne peut pas faire quand on est en solitaire. En solitaire, on est contraint de survoler un peu plus les réglages et la finesse de la conduite. En équipage, il y a donc une certaine intensité qu’on n’a pas ou moins en solitaire.

Que représente pour vous le Trophée Jules Verne ?

C’est la course la plus simple. Il n’y a quasiment pas de règles, si ce n’est un parcours. Du coup, ça permet d’ouvrir les champs d’innovations et d’investigations que ce soit au niveau sportif ou technique. On voit que ce ne sont pas forcément les bateaux les plus grands et les plus puissants qui gagnent. Ca permet vraiment de tenter des choses sans avoir de borne, ce qui fait du Jules Verne une compétition assez jusqu’au-boutiste. C’est plaisant. Il n’en n’existe pas deux comme ça.

Pensez-vous refaire le Jules Verne un jour ?

Je n’y ai pas pensé … Je ne ferme pas la porte, évidemment. Il faut voir le record car quand on s’engage, il faut qu’il y ait une possibilité de le battre. C’est parce qu’on pense qu’on peut le battre qu’on s’aligne un jour sur la ligne de départ. Il faut par ailleurs avoir les conditions techniques pour le faire, c’est-à-dire avec un bateau adapté. Soit il faut construire un bateau qui convienne et ce sont de grosses opérations, soit on peut récupérer des bateaux qui sont encore capables de le faire comme Idec Sport est en train de le prouver.

Idec Sport est en effet l’ancien Groupama sur lequel vous avez navigué …

C’est un vieux bateau mais il prouve aujourd’hui encore qu’il a été conçu dans un bon équilibre : pas trop grand, très efficace et qui peut être mené en solitaire comme en équipage. Il n’y a pas beaucoup de bateau comme ça. Il est ni complètement optimisé pour le solitaire, ni complètement optimisé pour l’équipage mais il est capable de faire les deux. Et il le fait bien.

Avez-vous un message pour Francis Joyon et ses cinq coéquipiers qui sont actuellement engagés sur le Jules Verne ?

Francis a fait des temps canon et a enchaîné les grosses journées. C’est remarquable !  Il faut bien comprendre que naviguer en permanence à plus de 30 nœuds, ça demande beaucoup d’attention, du doigté à la barre, c’est inconfortable et très bruyant. Il y a forcément un stress. Francis et son équipage sont en train de prouver qu’ils dominent bien la machine. Ils arrivent à trouver la limite sans la dépasser donc c’est une belle navigation. On ne peut que les féliciter.

 

Propos recueillis par Isabelle Trancoen